MORE THAN A THOUSAND FULL MOONS


This is in tribute of a person whom I did not get much to know because he left this world when I was seven years old. Three times I have met him during my vacations, at the ages of two, four and six. Rest all I know about him is from my father. He is my grandfather, the beloved father of my dad and other seven children. A grandfather of thirteen and great grandfather of eleven (out of this, he has seen only the first one). He is still admired by his children and friends as a man of great moral and modern outlook, who died five years back on this day at the age of 89.This man who has seen much more than a thousand full moons, according to my father, was a man who kept his pace with changing times, many a times ahead of it and never could be termed as orthodox in his thinking or deeds. He has defied conventions right from his youth when the society around him was of feudal and orthodox values. For my father, as he states, he was not just father but a friend, philosopher and guide. What more I can write about him?

But I realize that I too have lost someone, whose presence could have been something precious in my life.

10 thoughts on “MORE THAN A THOUSAND FULL MOONS

  1. As Ammukutty truely says he is a person with a different outlook than other individuals of his age… Veliachan as I call him has a major contribution in my success too…

  2. Hai. Surabhi Mol

    I was a best friend of your grand father..I am very happy to read your article about him…it simply good and touching…He was a great man to me also.

    thank you little surabhi…
    keep in touch

    Radhakrishnan Maman

  3. http://thousandfullmoons.blogspot.com/2011/04/thousand-full-moons-project.html
    Surabhi: You wrote so nicely about your grandfather! You mentioned that you could meet with him only 3 times. We have initiated a project in which we want to collect one good memory from people who have seen 1000 full moons or who are older than 81 years and 1 month. I am sending this only for your information. If you know anyone old, you are welcome to contribute. – Hemant

Leave a comment